Latest Achievements

Updates about the latest publications and other achievements by our faculty, staff and students

is a permalink and you can use it to link people directly to your achievement. Click on it or right-click it and choose "copy link address."

Week of: Aug 06, 2017

Faculty Melanie Michalak, Geology

Melanie Michalak was awarded a American Chemical Society- Petroleum Research Fund grant toward her proposed research, “Reconstructing Neogene Paleogeography and Forearc Basin Evolution of Southern Cascadia using Detrital Mineral Geochronology.” The grant of $55,000 is awarded over a two year period and will support original research by PI Michalak, a MSc student and a team of undergraduates. Their work in the coastal deposits along the north coast seeks to characterize paleogeography and forearc development over the past several million years using quantitative dating techniques.

Student Club Tina Llopis, Education

On July 21st 2017, Humboldt State University’s Student CTA (SCTA) president, Tina Llopis, was the first local SCTA president to receive a grant and attend the annual CTA President’s Conference in San Jose, California. This conference is held annually for the leaders of the California Teacher’s Association to build their leadership skills, hold professional development workshops, inspire member engagement, and unite to overcome challenges that are faced by educators. Llopis, a senior at HSU and newly elected president of the SCTA chapter, received a grant by the Community College Association (CCA), thus being able to foster a connection between CTA and our future educators.

Week of: Jul 30, 2017

Faculty Kerri J. Malloy, Native American Studies

Kerri J. Malloy, Lecturer in Native American Studies, presented his paper “Candle Light: Memorialization in Absence of a Memorial”” as part of the Performance and Activism Working Group at the Large-Scale Violence and Its Aftermath Summer Institute (June 25-29, 2017) at Kean University in Union, New Jersey. The Institute’s purpose was twofold: to clarify the anemic performance by state actors in managing atrocity and large-scale violence and restoring confidence in social stability and security; and to consider non-state, civil-society alternatives that, in the aggregate, could move progressively forward toward securing, if not transforming, successor societies.

Week of: Jul 23, 2017

Faculty Mark Colwell, Lizzie Feucht, Sean McAllister, Amber Transou, Wildlife

Mark Colwell and former students Lizzie Feucht, Sean McAllister, and Amber Transou published a paper in the August issue of Wader Study, an international journal dedicated to understanding the ecology and promoting the conservation of shorebirds. Their paper details the longevity record for a Snowy Plover that they’ve studied for the past 16 years! Mark will present this story in an EcoSeries lecture on August 31 in the Wildlife Department.

Page 5 of 95 pages « First  <  3 4 5 6 7 >  Last »