Latest Achievements

Updates about the latest publications and other achievements by our faculty, staff and students

is a permalink and you can use it to link people directly to your achievement. Click on it or right-click it and choose "copy link address."

Week of: Feb 19, 2017

Faculty Joshua Frye, Communication

Joshua Frye (Associate Professor, Communication) recently presented a paper at the Western States Communication Association annual convention in Salt Lake City. The paper was a part of a panel entitled “Centralizing Food Justice’s Place(s) in Environmental Communication. Other panelists included colleagues and collaborators from the University of Utah, Northern Arizona University, and the University of Nevada at Las Vegas. Frye’s paper introduced some theoretical tenets to shape critical environmental communication inquiry into food justice agency.

Student Mark Szymanski, Geology

Mark Szymanski (MS Student, Geology) received a $1,000 research grant from the Northern California Geological Society. Mark will these funds to measure oxygen isotope ratios of olivine crystals in lavas erupted over the last 750,000 years in the Sierra Nevada. Results from Mark’s thesis will advance our understanding the controls of where mafic volcanoes form and how they evolve.

Faculty Tyler S. Stumpf, Business

Tyler Stumpf (Asst. Professor, Management) recently had a research paper entitled “Institutions and transaction costs in foreign-local hotel ventures: A grounded investigation in the developing Pacific” accepted for publication in the journal Tourism Management. As opposed to the status quo approach to foreign-local hotel ventures in developing Pacific Islands which is predicated on idealistic presumptions regarding formal institutions, this study elucidates how transaction costs associated with such ventures can be economized by recognizing, valuing, and utilizing informal institutions.

Faculty Amy Sprowles and Kerri J. Malloy, Biological Sciences

Amy Sprowles (Biology) and Kerri J. Malloy (Native American Studies) presented their paper “Klamath Connections: creating cultural awareness through interdisciplinary study and community partnerships in the next generation of STEM professionals” at the Critical Histories and Activist Futures: Science, Medicine, and Racial Violence conference (February 24-25, 2017) at the Program in History of Science and Medicine at Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut. The conference focused on issues of science and racial violence as objects of historical study, and considered the lingering inequalities and injustices within history as a discipline.

Faculty Hunter H. Fine, Ph.D., Communication

Dr. Fine has recently published an article and performance video in Liminalities: A Journal of Performance Studies. The work explores the modern day commute through a critical qualitative performance methodology:

Fine, Hunter H. “Deconstructing/Performing The Commute: Proto-Poststructuralist Theory and Individual Motility.” Ed. Michael LeVan and Daniel Makagon. Liminalities: A Journal of Performance Studies 12.4 (2016).

Week of: Feb 12, 2017

Faculty Ron Fritzsche, Fisheries Biology

Emeritus Professor Ron Fritzsche (Fisheries Biology) was a contributor to the recently published FAO Species Identification Guide for Fisheries Purposes, “Living Marine Resources of the Eastern Central Atlantic, Vol. 3 Bony Fishes Part 1 (Elopiformes to Scorpaeniformes),” Kent Carpenter and Nicolette DeAngelis eds, FAO, United Nations, Rome 2016. Dr. Fritzsche contributed the section on the fishes of the order Gasterosteiformes (Syngnathidae, Fistulariidae, Aulostomidae and Macrorhamphosidae), pages 2231-2248.

Week of: Feb 05, 2017

Faculty Drew Petersen, Carl Hansen, Dave Marshall, Rosamel Benavides-Garb, Dale Oliver, Carol West,

The Silver Lamp Luncheon to honor HSU employees who have reached their 25 years of service mark will be held on Thursday, March 2, 2016, 12:00-1:30 p.m., in the University Center Banquet Room. The following staff and faculty members will be celebrated:

Drew Petersen, Strength Coach, Athletics
Carl Hansen, Dean, College of eLearning & Extended Education
Dave Marshall, Lecturer, Computer Science; Lead Lab Design/Development, ITS
Rosamel Benavides-Garb, Chair & Professor, World Languages and Cultures
Dale Oliver, Professor, Mathematics; Ombudsperson
Carol West, Lecturer, Child Development

Faculty Antone Blair, Kinesiology & Recreation Administration

HSU Fencing Instructor, Antone Blair, was recently recognized as Fencing Master, one of only five in the world. For more information about Antone, please see and a recent interview in the HSU Lumberjack

Student Nathaniel Douglass, Geography

Geography major Nathaniel Douglass was recently awarded a $1,500 scholarship from the Northern California chapter of URISA (Urban and Regional Information System Association) to continue his study of Geography and passion for GIS/Cartography.

Faculty Tyler Stumpf, Kate Lancaster, & Nancy Vizenor, Business

Tyler Stumpf (Asst. Professor, Management) recently presented a research paper written in collaboration with HSU School of Business faculty Kate Lancaster (Associate Professor, Accounting) and Nancy Vizenor (Asst. Professor, Management) entitled “The dual perspective revisited in Pacific Island hotel operations” at the West Federation CHRIE Conference in San Diego, CA. By inductively examining management operations systems in Pacific Island hotels, this study delineates theoretical insights on how Western and East-Asia Pacific perspectives can be integrated to optimize hotel operations in cross-cultural contexts.

Staff Stephen St. Onge, Housing & Residence Life

Director of Housing & Residence Life Stephen St. Onge, Health Education Assisatnt Mary Sue Savage, student Yvette Cerna and Student Health Center Director Brian Mistler will host a presentation at the 2017 NASPA conference in San Antonio, TX, March 11-15th, 2017 on “Creating a Consent Themed Learning Community. NAPSA is the organization of Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education.

Page 4 of 88 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 6 >  Last »