HSU Names Recipients of Distinguished Faculty Awards

Three individuals have been chosen as recipients of the 2014-15 Distinguished Faculty Award at Humboldt State University.

They are: Professor Chris Hopper, Scholar of the Year; Professor Marlon Sherman, Outstanding Service Award; and Lecturer Gayle Olson-Raymer, Excellence in Teaching Award.

The Distinguished Faculty Award recipients will be recognized at the upcoming Humboldt State Honors Dinner on April 17, where the University will also recognize the year’s Distinguished Alumni, Outstanding Students, and Staff Recognition Award recipients. They will also present special lectures on campus throughout the 2015-16 academic year.

Professor Chris Hopper, Professor Marlon Sherman and Lecturer Gayle Olson-Raymer

The Distinguished Faculty Awards have been a campus tradition since 1964, when the University began honoring members of the faculty with the Outstanding Professor Award. The first recipients were Harry E. Griffith and Fred Telonicher.

More information about the awards, including lists of past recipients, is at humboldt.edu/aavp/FacultyAwards.