Humboldt State University Presidential Search Committee to Hold First Meeting - Humboldt State Now

Humboldt State University Presidential Search Committee to Hold First Meeting

The following is from the CSU Public Affairs Office.

The California State University Board of Trustees is beginning the search for a new president of Humboldt State University (HSU) to succeed Rollin C. Richmond, who has announced he will retire at the end of the 2013-14 academic year.

The first meeting of the Trustees’ Committee for the Selection of the President will be held in an open forum from 10 a.m. to noon on Monday, Oct. 28, in the Van Duzer Theatre on the HSU campus. The open meeting will be followed by a closed meeting at noon.

CSU Trustee J. Lawrence Norton will chair the committee. The other trustee members include: Douglas Faigin, Debra Farar, Hugo Morales, as well as Trustee Chair Bob Linscheid and CSU Chancellor Timothy P. White.
Board policy requires the chair to appoint an Advisory Committee to the Trustees’ Committee. The Advisory Committee is composed of representatives from HSU’s faculty, students and alumni, as well as a member of a campus advisory board – all of whom are selected by the campus’ constituency groups. Also on the Advisory Committee is a vice president or academic dean from the campus, and a president of another CSU campus – both selected by the chancellor. Both committees function as one unified group.

Members of the Advisory Committee for the Selection of the President include:
HSU faculty members Lori Dengler, Ph.D., professor, Department of Geology and Claire Knox, Ph.D., professor, Department of Child Development
• Noah Zerbe, Ph.D., chair, University Senate
• Steven Smith, Ph.D., dean, College of Natural Resources and Sciences
• Kimberly Hall, veterans coordinator (staff representative)
• Conor Handley (student representative)
• Alisa Judge (alumni representative)
• John Woolley (campus advisory board representative)
• Community members Buster Attebery, chairman, Karuk Tribe, Bernadette Cheyne, professor, Department of Theatre, Film and Dance, and Heidi Moore, Humboldt County Office of Education
• Eduardo Ochoa, Ph.D., president, CSU Monterey Bay

The purpose of the meeting in an open forum is to: review the role of the committee, receive comments and input from the public and campus community, explain the search process and confidentiality, confirm the schedule of meetings, discuss preferred attributes of the next president, review the descriptions and needs of the campus and presidential position, and discuss any other business related to the search process.
Over the next several months, the committee will review applications and conduct interviews.

For more information about the CSU presidential search process, see the Executive Search page.