Annual Madrigal Singers and MRT Concert Dec. 2 - Humboldt State Now

Annual Madrigal Singers and MRT Concert Dec. 2

The HSU Madrigal Singers present their annual holiday show of 16th century English hits, followed by the Mad River Transit Singers creating some spontaneous jazz combustion in their joint concert on Sunday, Dec. 2 at Fulkerson Recital Hall.

The HSU Madrigal Singers.

The Madrigal Singers perform traditional works by Henry Purcell, John Dowland and Ralph Vaughan Williams as well as madrigals by Thomas Weelkes, Thomas Morely and Robert Jones—all beginning with “Fanfare for Christmas Day.” As usual the 28 singers will be in Elizabethan costume, singing in various combinations: for example, four Ladies combine on Purcell’s “What Can We Poor Females Do?”

Harley Muilenberg conducts and John Chernoff performs keyboard accompaniments.

Then the MRT Singers take over for an eclectic program, focusing on music of well-known vocal jazz arrangers. Among the tunes they perform are “Spontaneous Human Combustion” by Richard Greene and Joe Finetti, a vocal arrangement of Paul Simon’s “Baby Driver,” and Hoagy Carmichael’s “Georgia On My Mind.” They will also celebrate the salvation of Big Bird with the “Sesame Street” song.

Singers will be accompanied by a rhythm section of Steven Workman on bass, Dylan Williams on drums, and John Chernoff on piano, who also promises a solo or two.

Members of the 2012 Madrigal Singers: Cayla Crofts, Ana Cruz, Rebecca Ashbach, Jacqui Hernandez, Shawny Hard, Erin Corrigan, Michaela Presler, Daniela Godinez, Savannah Bouton, Cynthia Stuart, Kristin Mack, Robyn Strong, Elena Tessler, Georgia Sack, Rosemary Torres, Natalie Whiting, Jason (JD) Garza, James Adams, Ken Montalvo, Dylan Kinser, John Pettlon, Kris Lang, James Gadd, Edress Nassir, Clint Rebik, Kobe Thompson, Matt Walton and Greg Willis.

The 2012 MRT Singers are: Jacqui Hernandez, Anna Coleman, Katrina Beck, Trina Garrett, Hannah Fels, Kathleen Johnston, Dani Godinez, Jessie Rawson, Sandy Lindop, Tina Toomata, Steven Eitzen, Raymond Alvarez, Dolan Leckliter, David Vaughan, Alberto Rodriguez, Jerry Olofsson and Joseph Welnick.

Tickets are available through the HSU Ticket Office (826-3928) or at the door. Directed by Harley Muilenberg, produced by the HSU Music Department. For more information, visit