From Dowland to a cappella jazz with Madrigal and MRT Singers - Humboldt State Now

From Dowland to a cappella jazz with Madrigal and MRT Singers

Madrigal Singers highlight songs of John Dowland and Mad River Transit adds a cappella jazz to its offerings in a shared spring concert on Sunday May 4 in Fulkerson Recital Hall.

Some of the MRT singers with director Harley Muilenburg before an appearance in Reno, Nevada.

John Dowland is perhaps the most famous of the madrigal era composers, especially after Sting recorded an album of his songs. The Madrigal Singers perform solo selections accompanied by HSU alumnus Jason Hall on guitar. “Jason’s superb guitar playing will provide an insight into the Elizabethan Madrigal style of music,” said Madrigal Singers director Harley Muilenburg.

In various combinations, the Madrigal Singers perform other Renaissance era songs, including Peter Warlock’s “Pretty Ring Time” and settings by Henry Purcell, Gabriel Faure and Benjamin Britten, with John Chernoff accompanying on keyboards.

The Mad River Transit singers perform their program of ballads, blues and swing ranging from Johnny Mercer and Harold Arlen to James Taylor and Theolonius Monk, accompanied by a three-piece rhythm section. New this spring is a student-led a cappella group called Syncopations, which performs two songs recorded by Take Six.

This year’s HSU Madrigal Singers are Tiffany Casparis, Ana Ceja, Stevy Marquez, Linnea Hill, Robyn Strong, Elena Tessler, Kellie Ventura, Erin Corrigan, Danielle Dias, Jessical Golden, Hannah Kelly, Rebeca Ramos, Rosemary Torres, Rae Marcum, Fidel Garcia, Evan Goldsborough, Victor Guerrero, JoeBoy Kitzerow, John Pettlon, Raul Yepez. Dylan Kinser, Jason Hall, Edrees Nassir and Jeremy Rodda.

Mad River Transit Singers are Hannah Fels, Trina Garrett, Sandy Lindop, Laura Doughty, Kelsey Goldstein, Danielle Murray, Lorena Tamayo, Olivia Bright, Jo Kuzelka, Jessie Rawson, Michelle Green, Kenneth Bridges, Steven Eitzen, Jason Garza, Kyle McInnis, Kobe Thompson, Raymond Alvarez, Dolan Leckliter, Christopher Parreira, Alberto Rodriguez, Corey Tamondong and Braxton Corbin.

The MRT rhythm section is John Chernoff (piano), Ian Taylor (bass) and Thatcher Holvick-Norton (drums.)

Madrigal Singers and Mad River Transit perform on Sunday May 4 at 8 p.m. in Fulkerson Recital Hall on the HSU campus in Arcata. Tickets are $8/$5, free to HSU students with ID, from HSU Ticket Office (826-3928) or at the door. An HSU Music Department production.