Instructors Recognized for Excellence by Retired Faculty, Staff

The Emeritus and Retired Faculty and Staff Association (ERFSA) of Humboldt State University announced its selection of junior faculty who have demonstrated outstanding promise.

The recognition, which includes a cash award, is intended to supplement professional development, research and creative accomplishments, and teaching effectiveness. The Coordinating Committee of the ERFSA reviewed a number of applications based on faculty projects and selected the following individuals for the awards.

•Kaitlin Reed, Native American Studies
From Gold Rush to Green Rush book project

•Jose Marin Jarrin, Fisheries Biology
Verification of species identification of Galapagos octopus using genetic techniques

•Jorge Monteiro, Chemistry
Hybrid systems to produce persistent luminescence and generate singlet oxygen in the dark

•Catalina Cuellar-Gempeler, Biological Sciences
Tracking microbial nitrogen metabolism in microbiology research and education

•Cyndy Phillips, English
Humboldt County plein air book creation

•Buddhika Madurapperuma, Forestry & Wildland Resources and Environmental Science & Management
Capacity building in unmanned aerial vehicle technology outreach and to solve environmental research questions

ERFSA congratulates these excellent scholars.

Learn more about ERFSA.